Trickster Tales: Traditional Cree Stories


Photo provided by Kevin Lewis



Trickster Tales: Traditional Cree Stories for Beginning Cree Speakers

April 24th – May 29th, 2020

Friday evenings at 5 - 6 PM CDT (Manitoba time)

3 PM PST / 4 PM CST (Saskatchewan time) / 6 PM EST / 7 PM Maritimes

Online through Zoom


Instructor: Dr. Kevin Lewis of kâniyâsihk Culture Camps (https://kaniyasihkculturecamps.com/)


tânisi


This is an introductory course to listen to our stories and to also teach our ears to hear the language. Cree is made up of a lot of little meanings and for the most part, it is spoken in word sentences. These little bits of meanings are called morphemes. We will listen for these meanings as we look into our stories for lifelong learning, teachings for today and also lessons to be passed forward. Although this is a course, I believe all levels of speakers will learn from the process. It will be a mixture of listening, reading and writing the Cree Language. We will try to cover all the different ways of learning through a safe place to teach and learn Cree. We may learn a song, we may learn some syllabics but we will use technology to our advantage to share.


Photo provided by Kevin Lewis


ᐋᐧᐦᑰᐦᑐᐃᐧᐣ wâhkôhtowin-Kinship


We are a family and when you join our camps, you become one of our family members. This is wahkohtowin - via https://kaniyasihkculturecamps.com/


Photo provided by Kevin Lewis


Overview of Topics:


Basic Introductions

First Story (English/Cree)

Song(s)

Reading and Writing (advantages)

Online Resources

Learning from Story

Responsibility of Story


Photo provided by Kevin Lewis


Contact Stephanie at info@wheatinstitute.com if you are interested in joining us! There is also a Community Application for groups up to 4 people to register under one fee. Stephanie can provide further details upon request.


mwestas!


Learning to listen,

in colour.

Follow us:

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle